The Levitical Sacrifices
As outlined in Leviticus 1-7
by Wayne D. Turner
From BibleTrack
Copyright 2004-2008

  1. Instructions to the People (1:1-6:7)
    1. The Burnt Offering (1:1-17)
      The purpose of this offering was to draw a person closer to God (atonement).
      It was sometimes offered as a corporate sacrifice and sometimes as an individual sacrifice.
      1. Offered before the Law of Moses by Noah, Abraham and others
      2. The last offering of the day
      3. Burned throughout the night
      4. Occasions for this offering
        1. Continual: Exodus 29:38-42; Leviticus 6:9-13
        2. Every sabbath: Numbers 28:9-10
        3. Monthly: Numbers 28:11-15
        4. Passover: 28:19-23
        5. Feast of Pentecost: Leviticus 23:16
        6. Feast of Trumpets: Leviticus 23:23-25
        7. Day of Atonement: Leviticus 16
    2. The Meat (Grain) Offering (2:1-16)
      1. Generally, but not always accompanied by a drink offering
      2. A voluntary offering in ecognition of God's sovereignty and his provisions: I Chronicles 29:10-14; Deuteronomy 26:5-11
      3. Presented each day with the burnt offering: Exodus 29:40-41
      4. Consisted of flour or cakes specially prepared
      5. The priests burned a portion and ate a portion of this offering.
    3. The Peace Offering (3:1-17)
      1. Indicated right relations with God
      2. Expressed good-fellowship, gratitude and obligation
      3. The one offering the sacrifice ate a portion: Leviticus 7:11-18
      4. At the feast before God on the Mount, peace offerings provided the food: Exodus 24:5
      5. At Aaron’s consecration an ox and a ram were the peace offerings: Leviticus 9:4,18,22
      6. The priest’s portion was to be eaten in a clean place by the priest’s family: Leviticus 10:14
      7. All made at tabernacle or temple (except when the tabernacle was not erected): Leviticus 17:4
      8. At the end of the Nazirite vow: Numbers 6:18
      9. At the Feast of Trumpets: Numbers 10:10
    4. The Sin Offering (4:1-5:13)
      1. Because of individual sin or collective sin
      2. Differing requirements for priests, rulers, other people, etc.
      3. Also included requirements for inadvertent sin such as:
        1. Failure to testify in a case where one has material evidence to give: Leviticus 5:1
        2. Accidental uncleanness: Leviticus 5:3
        3. A rash oath which a person fails to fulfil: Leviticus 5:4
    5. The Guilt Offering (5:14-6:7)
      1. For misappropriation of property or failure in regard to material things
      2. Required restitution and 20% penalty
      3. Required the sacrifice of a male sheep
  2. Instructions to the Priests (6:8-7:36)
    1. The Burnt Offering (6:8-13)
    2. The Meat (Grain) Offering (6:14-23)
    3. The Sin Offering (6:24-30)
    4. The Guilt Offering (7:1-10)
    5. The Peace Offering (7:11-36)
      1. Heave Offering: We see in verses 14, 32 and 34 a reference to "heave" offerings. The Hebrew word "terumah" simply refers to an offering presented to the Levites as a present for their own use. The right shoulder, which fell to the priests in presenting thank offerings, was called the heave shoulder (Leviticus 7:34 and Numbers 6:20). The first fruits offered in harvest-time seen in Numbers 15:20, 21 were also heave offerings.
      2. Wave Offering: We also see a reference to "wave" offerings in verses 30 and 34. These were parts of peace-offerings, so called because they were waved by the priests. These are also seen in (Exodus 29:24, 26, 27; Leviticus 8:27; 9:21; 10:14, 15. The first-fruits, a sheaf of barley, offered at the feast of Pentecost (Leviticus 23:17-20), and wheat-bread, the first-fruits of the second harvest, offered at the Passover (10-14), were also wave-offerings.
  3. Summary (7:37-38)